What I’m reading, what I’m thinking…

The beauty of “Brain Droppings” is it allows me to cover just about whatever is on my mind that needs out.  I don’t always have enough to say about specific topics to write a full blown story, but it doesn’t mean I don’t have opinions 😉

So here are a few articles and random thoughts I’ve found/thought of recently with a quick take on each:

The Riddle of the Gun, Sam Harris

“I do not know how we can solve the problem of gun violence. A renewed ban on “assault rifles”—nearly the only concrete measure that anyone is talking about—will do very little to make our society safer. It is not, as many advocates seem to believe, an important “first step” in achieving a sane policy with respect to guns. It seems likely to be a symbolic step that delays real thinking about the problem of guns for another decade or more. By all means, let us ban these weapons. But when the next lunatic arrives at a school armed with legal pistols and a dozen ten-round magazines, we should be prepared to talk about how an assault weapons ban was a distraction from the real issue of gun violence.”

Sam Harris is one of those “really smart guys” that it pays to actually “think” about what he’s saying, regardless of whether or not you agree with him.  In the aftermath of Sandy, I think the knee-jerk reaction of many – myself included – was to support an assault weapons ban.  When you consider the evidence and the statistical analysis, I find myself in agreement with Mr. Harris – such a move could only be symbolic and not address any of the real issues that create gun violence.  Just my evolving opinion, but I encourage you to read his article and see what you think…

On line Dating.  Wait, what?  Great article in the Atlantic on how on-line dating is actually hurting monogamous relationships.

Reason I was drawn to this is that I listen to Sirius/XM in the car.  Every other commercial (it seems) is an advertisement for ChristianMingle.com with the great catchphrase “find God’s match for you!”  Being the skeptic that I am, I couldn’t help but wonder how many failed marriages have resulted from people finding their “soulmate” via Christianmingle – especially since god himself worked his magic in setting up the nuptials! Given some of the criticisms of god’s service to Christians, I’m pretty sure many of the 5 million current users will find a match, for a night or two anyway…

Lastly, I planned on doing a full up article on the Top 10 15 Greatest American Bands of all time.  I futzed with it, but it didn’t pan out the way I wanted it to.  So I’ll just throw out what I came up with, leaving aside the “great” rationales I was attempting to put together to justify inclusion…

There were a variety of factors involved in selecting my list, with an exception to every rule.  This includes: longevity (or more importantly, how long the band has been relevant), popularity (not to say the band has had Top 40 singles for decades, but how much air play do they receive), relevance (is the music still relevant today), talent (did members of the band have commercial success outside the band, before or after).  With that in mind, here’s my list:

  1. Aerosmith.
  2. Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band
  3. Van Halen
  4. Beach Boys
  5. Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young
  6. The Eagles
  7. Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band
  8. Fleetwood Mac Simon and Garfunkel (John McVie and Mick Fleetwood – the band’s namesake are both British!)
  9. Grateful Dead
  10. Doobie Brothers
  11. Allman Brothers
  12. Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
  13. Lynyrd Skynyrd
  14. Steve Miller Band
  15. Pearl Jam

OK, I couldn’t stop at 10…So fire away – what’s your list?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What I’m reading, what I’m thinking…

  1. Linda says:

    Lynyrd Skynyrd and Tom Petty would be higher on my list and it would not include the Eagles at all (but that’s a personal thing). I would also have the Beatles. (I’m a girl.)

  2. seanasbury says:

    Linda, I couldn’t include the Beatles 😦 – American bands only… 😉

  3. David Pan says:

    My list of bands (or musicians) that had lasting influence:

    Chuck Berry
    Buddy Holly
    The Doors
    Jimi Hendrix
    The Ramones
    Iggy Pop
    New York Dolls
    Patti Smith
    Nirvana

  4. Hilary Young says:

    You forgot Pink Floyd and Rush!! Maybe you can swap out Bob Seeger and the Beach Boys ;-). — ok I just read the American Bands part. I have to include Van Halen and Jimi Hendrix.

  5. seanasbury says:

    Hilary – Jimmy Hendrix, couldn’t include…it would have had to have been the Experience, just like why I didn’t include Patti Smith, Buddy Holly, Chuck Berry or Iggy Pop – tried to focus on actual “bands” and not individual performers…

  6. seanasbury says:

    David – I could see the Doors, but I’d put them in the near miss category along with Nirvana – influential, great, but without longevity to propel them to the pantheon…

  7. Steve Wilson says:

    My top three:

    Bruce and E Street
    The Eagles
    Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

Leave a Reply

